Loading...
gotthard
About gotthard
4x 39 kW 181 kg 1.9 s 120 km/h

«Success through Innovation» - the maxim for «gotthard». It is a reflection of the most important principle in the first ten years of the AMZ’s success story. The main concept of gotthard was developed with radical improvements. The packaging is redesigned and includes a split accumulator container. A new suspension was developed along with self developed tires. The efficiency of the drivetrain was further increased. Well-known strengths such as self-developed engines, MRF dampers, an extensive vehicle dynamics control system and a full aerodynamics package are implemented.

By dividing the accumulator container, one of them could be placed in front of the driver, the other behind the driver. The result is a better weight distribution and a lower center of gravity. Furthermore, a diffuser which is integrated into the chassis was realized. The radiators have been placed behind the chassis and are actively aired by two fans. As a result, the aerodynamic performance of the vehicle is optimized.

The suspension system is complemented with a third spring. The so-called Heave-Spring allows nearly independent control of the heave and pitch movement of the vehicle. As a result, the single wheel springs are further modified and softened, which yields more mechanical grip on the self developed tires. Furthermore the dampers are controlled with MRF technology.

The efficiency of the drivetrain was further increased by several individual modifications. For example new SiC semiconductors are used and the electric motor was completely redesigned (in sixth generation). A self developed battery management system, which communicates via light, enables an effective usage of the battery and guarantees maximum safety. 

The courage to take the untrodden path brought the team a rollercoaster of emotions: harsh setbacks and huge progress, defeat and victory - everything that defines a year in Formula Student. The effort paid off: in a turbulent season «gotthard» made a convincing mark against the strongest-ever competition. A failure in Silverstone was followed by an outstanding victory in Austria. Bad luck caught up again in Germany, but a second place in the final event in Spain made for a very successful end to the season after all.

However, gotthard story is not over yet as it has been chosen to become the next driverless racing car of the team. Many modifications and new and exciting challenges are ahead. Stay tuned.

Management

Lisa Oberosler
  • Chief Executive Officer
Miguel de la Iglesia Valls
  • Chief Technical Officer

Operations

Sonja Brits
Angelo Corradi
Napat Karnchanachari
Lisa Oberosler

Hardware

Nicolò De Rita
  • Computing System
Angelo Corradi
  • Brakes
Friedrich Prinz
  • HV Accumulator
Jochen Stiasny
  • Steering

Perception

Mehak Gupta
  • Computer Vision
Ramya Sivanesan
  • Computer Vision
Nikhil Bharadwaj Gosala
  • LiDAR
Ankit Dhall
  • Computer Vision

Estimation

Manish Prajapat
  • State Estimation
Andreas Bühler
  • SLAM
Claas Ehmke
  • SLAM

Control

Jochen Stiasny
  • Trajectory
Eugenio Chisari
  • Vehicle Dynamics Control
Quan Guanzhong
  • Trajectory
Alex Hönger
  • Trajectory
Napat Karnchanachari
  • Vehicle Dynamics Control

Software Architecture

Sonja Brits

Loading...
gotthard
Über gotthard
4x 39 kW 181 kg 1.9 s 120 km/h

«Erfolg durch Innovation» - der Leitsatz für «gotthard». Eine Besinnung auf den höchsten Wert in der zehnjährigen Erfolgsgeschichte des AMZ. Das Packaging wurde überarbeitet und die Akkubox aufgeteilt. Ein neues Fahrwerk wurde entwickelt, inklusive einer eigenen Reifenentwicklung. Die Effizienz des Antriebsstranges konnte weiter gesteigert werden. Weiterhin wurde auf bekannte Stärken wie selbstentwickelte Motoren, MRF-Dämpfer, eine ausgeklügelte Fahrdynamikregelung und ein volles Aerodynamik Paket gesetzt. 

Indem die Akkuboxen aufgeteilt wurden, konnte eine vor den Fahrer, die andere dahinter platziert werden. Dies hat eine bessere Gewichtsverteilung und einen tieferen Schwerpunkt zur Folge. Des Weiteren erlaubt es ein Diffusor zu verwirklichen, welcher in das Chassis integriert ist. Die Radiatoren wurden hinter das Chassis verschoben und werden mittels zwei Lüftern durchströmt. Dadurch konnte die Aerodynamik des Fahrzeuges optimiert werden.

Das Fahrwerk wurde mit einer dritten Feder ausgestattet. Die sogenannte Heave-Spring ermöglicht es die Heave-Bewegung des Fahrzeuges weitgehend von den anderen Modi entkoppelt zu federn. Dadurch konnten die Einzelradfedern weiter modifiziert und weicher eingestellt werden, was mehr mechanischen Grip an den selbstentwickelten Reifen ermöglicht. Weiterhin sind die Dämpfungseigenschaften des Fahrwerks mittels MRF-Technologie regelbar. 

Der Antriebsstrang konnte durch mehrere individuelle Modifikationen, beispielsweise neue SiC-Halbleiter Module, sowie durch die Neuauslegung des Elektromotors (in sechster Generation) und neue Akkuzellen, effizienter gemacht werden. Ein eigens entwickeltes Battery Management System, welches mit Licht kommuniziert, ermöglicht die optimale Ausnutzung der Batterie und garantiert grösstmögliche Sicherheit. 

Der Mut unbeschrittene Wege zu gehen bescherte dem Team eine Achterbahn der Emotionen. Riesige Fortschritte und harte Rückschläge, Niederlagen und Siege: alles was ein Jahr in der Formula Student zu bieten hat. Die Mühen haben sich gelohnt: «gotthard» überzeugte in einer turbulenten Saison gegen eine Konkurrenz von nie dagewesener Stärke. Nach dem Ausfall in Grossbritannien folgte der überragende Gesamtsieg in Österreich. In Deutschland wurde das Team wieder vom Pech eingeholt und ein weiterer Ausfall folgte. Der zweite Platz im Abschlussrennen in Spanien führte dann doch zu einem sehr erfolgreichen Saisonabschluss. 

Teamleitung

Lisa Oberosler
  • Chief Executive Officer
Miguel de la Iglesia Valls
  • Chief Technical Officer
Angelo Corradi
  • Hardware CTO
Juraj Kabzan
  • Software CTO

Hardware

Nicolò De Rita
Angelo Corradi
Friedrich Prinz
Claas Ehmke
Jochen Stiasny
Napat Karnchanachari

Perception

Ankit Dhall
Ramya Sivanesan
Mehak Gupta
Nikhil Bharadwaj Gosala

Estimation

Claas Ehmke
Manish Prajapat
Andreas Bühler

Control

Jochen Stiasny
Napat Karnchanachari
Eugenio Chisari

Automated Testing System

Victor Reijgwart
Juraj Kabzan
Hubertus Hendrikx

Software Architecture

Sonja Brits